PHOENIX – The new piano album by Maria Radutu


The transformation of unfiltered emotions of young souls, through fire, to acceptance and rebirth – melting into freedom

The album Phoenix starts with “one strong emotion per piece” with romantic, folk-inspired classical and world music works. The climax is reached in Liszt’s Mephisto Waltz, where all the elements burn together, exploding into a thrilling dance. Out of the ashes left behind, it creates the space for a modern fusion of styles, a new world of musical expression by Marco Annau’s “Crossing Lines”, Gershwin as the first “crossover” composer in history and Mikael Karlsson’s “Finale” melting old beauty in a contemporary musical surrounding.

Fire creates, destroys, warms and accompanies us in the most diverse and intimate moments. From the whispered lullaby, dancing in a fire place, to the last dripping candle. During one hour of music, we travel together through dances, emotions, love and melancholy. The juvenile sparkling atmosphere of the beginning finds its way to maturity and balance, opening your mind and soul. With a slightly autobiographical touch, Phoenix shows Radutu’s interpretation of questions like “where does the music go?” and “how do we learn from the past to create the future?”

The album will be recorded in Spring 2019 at tonzauber in the Vienna Konzerthaus and the live concert will premiere in July 2019.

  • F. Chopin – Prelude Op. 28, No. 18
  • E. Satie – Gnossienne No. 1
  • B. Bartok – Allegro barbaro, Sz. 49
  • F. Say – Black Earth
  • M. Annau – Ninni
  • I. Stravinsky – Tango
  • H. Villa-Lobos – Alma Brasileira, Chôros No. 5
  • F. Liszt – Mephisto Waltz No. 1
  • G. W. Gluck – Dance of the Blessed Spirits
  • M. Annau – Crossing Lines (commissioned work)
  • G. Gershwin – Three Preludes for Piano
  • M. Karlsson – “Finale” from the ballet “Blanc” by Daniel Proietto

The GershWIEN Project – New album out now


Maria Radutu & Markus Adenberger
Release date: April 2019

Contrasting classical collection. A clarinet and a piano, together like you’ve never heard before.

Radutu’s and Adenberger’s unlimited love for music results in probably the most diverse album for clarinet and piano you’ve ever heard. Modern humor and dark deepness in Penderecki’s Miniatures, America’s jazz of the 20s and 30s in Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue and Shaw’s Clarinet Concerto, Spanish gypsy virtuosity, German elaborate romance and French singing melancholy.

All-in-one by two soloists and chamber musicians, with Viennese warmth and cosmopolitan perception.


  • Penderecki – Three Miniatures for Clarinet and Piano
  • Gershwin – Rhapsody in Blue (Piano solo feat. Clarinet)
  • Shaw – Concerto for Clarinet (Clarinet, Piano & Drums)
    • Special Guest: Franz Hofferer
  • Sarasate – Zigeunerweisen (arr. for Clarinet and Piano)
  • Schumann – Three Romances, Op. 94
  • Poulenc – Hommage à Edith Piaf
  • Poulenc – Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, FP 184

The album was recorded by tonzauber on two pianos (Steinway D and Bösendorfer Imperial). Released in April 2019 by All Sound Around.

Maria Radutu & Markus Adenberger